I have memories from as early as 2 years old.  I remember my “best friend” Holly.  Her dad went to school with my mom, and we used to play at the college playground together.  I remember her little face, as she sat on the tire swing.  I remember when we all went down to Gulf Shores for the weekend, and I got a splinter in my toe while we were on the dock.  Holly’s mom had to take it out for me.

I remember my grandmother’s funeral.  I remember the church and the pews, and all the people.  I remember my dad was holding me, and my uncle was walking beside him.  I remember they were crying, and I didn’t know why.  I remember looking down at my grandmother and wondering why she was sleeping in such a funny looking box.

I remember when I was about 4, playing with my McDonald’s Drive-Thru playset.  I remember the apartment we lived in, and the balcony.  I remember playing with my little Tony the Tiger frisbee I got out of the cereal box.  I remember walking down to the pool with my mom, and my Barbie doll in her swimsuit.

I remember kindergarten, and my first real best friend, Brittany.  I remember my family was broke, so we couldn’t afford all the latest and greatest, but I didn’t mind.  It was the other girls who were bothered by it, and would pick on me and call me names.  One girl was always threatening to hit me, but Brittany always stood by me, and stood up for me.  Still, many days I got off the bus crying, and many days I begged not to go back.

At home was a little better.  I played in the yard, usually alone, and imagined all the different worlds I could be in.  Sometimes I was a teacher, other times an honorary ninja turtle, and sometimes a gymnast.  Sometimes I was just a native, living off the land and climbing in trees.  Often, we roasted marshmallows and hot dogs around a fire.  Sometimes I played with our horses, or got to ride.  Once I had a sheep to take care of, and show at the fair.  I liked it at first, but then she got sick, and had to have shots.  After that, she didn’t like the judges touching her, and would take off.  The first time it happened, I tried to hold on to her, and got drug around the ring.  I decided showing sheep wasn’t for me, but I had to stick it out for the rest of the season.

